Triptykon is a Swiss metal band from Zürich, formed in 2008 by Thomas Gabriel Fischer, founding member of the pioneering heavy metal bands Hellhammer, Celtic Frost and Apollyon Sun.

Fischer announced his departure from Celtic Frost in May 2008 and shortly afterwards revealed his new project would be entitled Triptykon. The name of the band is the Greek word for "triptych", and is aimed at stating that Triptykon is founding member Thomas Gabriel Fischer's third project after Hellhammer and Celtic Frost. The band logo is inspired by a writing pattern used during the time of the Weimar Republic.
On August 5, 2009, Triptykon issued a press release indicating the recording of their debut album, Eparistera Daimones, would commence in the middle of August and continue through November, with a release in the spring of 2010.[4][5]

On December 21, 2009, Triptykon issued a new press release to reveal Prowling Death Records Ltd. entered into a licensing agreement with Century Media Records to release Eparistera Daimones on March 22, 2010.[6]

A follow-up EP, entitled Shatter, was released on October 25, 2010.[7] A music video for the song Shatter has also been released.

It was announced on October 22, 2013 that the new album will be titled Melana Chasmata.[8]

On February 7, 2014, Melana Chasmata's release date was revealed as being on April 14, 2014. The new album was received by music critics with a widely excellent critical response.

In early August 2017, Triptykon announced that drummer Norman Lonhard would be exiting the band, and that auditions for a replacement would soon be underway. Lonhard's final performance with the band was at the Party.San Open Air festival in Schlotheim, Germany on August 12th.

Text bereitgestellt von lastfm